Tags

, , , , , ,

When I picked up this pretty scrapbook paper at the Target Dollar Spot, I knew I wanted to use it to make something for my new apartment, but I didn’t know what!  Then, I saw some cute coasters at Sur La Table, and everything clicked: tile coasters!  I’ve seen tile coasters all over Pinterest, and now I finally have time to make them.

I used the tutorial from The Cottage Mama.  I appreciate how detailed this tutorial is, and how it provides dimensions for everything.  I need numbers!

The goods:

  • Square tiles (4.25″ x 4.25″)
  • Scrapbook paper (The Cottage Mama said to use 3.75″ x 3.75″, but I used 4″ x 4″ squares)
  • Felt (3.75″ x 3.75″)
  • Mod Podge (I used Hard Coat)
  • Sponge Brush
  • Fabric Glue

I made 8 coasters: enough for each of us in the apartment + 2 more.  Without the Mod Podge, brush, or glue (I had these on hand), this project only cost me around $2.50.  I don’t think I could find a set of 8 ceramic coasters for that price anywhere… much less coasters that are these cute!

I used a paper cutter to cut paper squares, and I used scissors to cut the felt.  Cutting felt is tough!  If anyone has tips , please pass them along to me!

I first painted the back of each paper square with Mod Podge, and stuck it onto the tile.  I let the paper dry, pressed out the air bubbles, and coated the tiles with 6 coats of Mod Podge, allowing 15-20 minutes after each coat for it to dry.

I’m obsessed with these coasters!  I’m keeping this set for myself, but I’ll definitely be making many more!  These coasters would make great gifts… you can never have too many!

