Tags

, , , , ,

Sorry for my lack of posts and comments lately… these past few weeks have been horribly busy!  Because one of my pet peeves is when people spend a long time complaining about how busy they are, I’ll just leave it at that. 😉

Anyway, I’ve got a great product review today: Radical Skincare Instant Revitalizing Mask.  This product was sent to me courtesy of Radical Skincare and Sephora, but my opinions of the product are honest and entirely my own.

Here’s some info about Radical Skincare Instant Revitalizing Mask from the Sephora website.  A one-ounce bottle of the mask costs $65.00.

What it is:
A fun-to-apply skin soothing, intelligent mask that foams, pops, and gives radical radiance in minutes while providing hydration, vitamins, and energy to your skin.

What it is formulated to do:
The Instant Revitalizing Mask is the ideal coach for the skin: it delivers the nutrients necessary for hydration and regeneration while teaching it to breathe, stock up on energy, and optimize its oxygen resources in rarefied conditions. It leaves skin amazingly revitalized, healthy, and glowing.

What it is formulated WITHOUT:
– Parabens
– Sulfates
– Phthalates

Active Ingredients:

-Sodium PCA: Used to increase the skin’s softness as it helps maintain a healthy moisture balance.

-Vitamin E: Preserves the skin against aggressivity of free radicals created by oxidation coming from exposure to pollution, excess of sun, and age.

-Green Coffee: A good scavenger of active oxygen species, and a very strong antioxidant.

My Review:

I love that this product doesn’t contain parabens, sulfates, or phthalates, which are all ingredients that I try to avoid putting on my skin.

Before I review the product itself, I think it’s important for me to talk about my skin to give you the best possible impression of the product.  If your skin is totally different than mine, then you may have a different experience with the product.  My skin is sensitive and combination: sometime’s it’s oily, but sometimes it’s dry.  It doesn’t bother me too much: I’ve never had serious skin issues that warranted visiting a dermatologist or using any prescription cleansers, creams, or gels.  I’ll use cleanser and toner in the morning, and moisturizer at night.  Harsh cleansers and toners make my skin burn and get red.  As a frame of reference, Clinique toner is too harsh for my skin.  I rarely wear liquid foundation: I usually stick to BareMinerals powder foundation or Benefit Some Kinda Gorgeous Foundation Faker.  I generally have good skin: obviously sometimes it’s red or imperfect, but I’m usually pretty satisfied with it how it looks.

SO onto the actual review… sorry for that wall of text!

I applied this mask after removing my eye makeup and washing my face with some gentle toner on a cotton ball to remove makeup from my face.  I applied a pea-sized amount of the mask to my cheeks, nose, and chin.  It looked white and foamy when I first applied it, then it turned clear.  I liked that while wearing the mask, my face didn’t look like I was wearing a mask.  The mask felt foamy and bubbly on my skin, and I rinsed it off after a few minutes.  My skin felt very soft and looked great.

About half an hour after I rinsed off the mask, my face started to feel itchy.  This was weird, especially because my skin wasn’t red at all.  I put some moisturizer on my face, and the itching went away.

I’ll try the mask again, but not for a few days because the instructions say to use it twice a week.  I wasn’t really sure why my skin itched, but I don’t think it was because I’m allergic to the ingredients because I didn’t see any inflammation on my face.  Overall, I liked the product, but I think it’s designed for people whose skin isn’t as sensitive as mine.  I’ll use it every once in a while, but I’m not sure if my skin can handle using it twice a week.  We’ll see!

Thank you so much to Radical Skincare and Sephora for sending me this product to try.  I really appreciate it, and I hope my readers do, too!

