Tags

, , , , , , ,

Guess what??  Sorry I’m Not Sorry Saturday is coming back!  Just a heads-up so you can start brainstorming ideas for this linkup, and get ready for Saturday!

I’ve decided to participate in a blogging challenge!  Well… sort of.  I really like the prompts in Blogtember, but I’m not sure if I want to do it every single day.  So look forward to some Blogtember posts, but I don’t know if I’ll write all of them!  I’ll probably get sick of the challenge pretty quickly (because that’s just how my attention span works), but who knows?

Here’s today’s prompt.

Thursday, September 5: Pass on some useful advice or information you learned and always remembered. 

Last year, I took a public speaking class at my university.  It was a great class, and I received lots of feedback both from the instructor and peers about how to improve my public speaking.  One day, after I finished giving a speech, the instructor sighed and, with a sad look on her face, told me that my voice might cause people to take me less seriously.

She was an awesome instructor, and I know that she meant this comment in a completely constructive way.  She then said that rather than trying to change my voice (which is… you know, pretty difficult), I could use it to my advantage.  I have a high-pitched voice and a Midwestern accent, plus I do the up-talk thing (where the last word of a sentence is higher-pitched, even though it’s not a question).  My voice gets even higher-pitched when I speak to people I don’t know.

I can see how it might be difficult for some people to take me seriously, but I’ve never been uncomfortable with my voice.  I’ve always used it to my advantage without consciously realizing it.

A few summers ago, I worked as a waitress, and customers were (usually) polite to me, in part because I always spoke to them in my sweetest, most innocent voice.

I want to work with infants and young children, and I’m great at talking to them because my normal voice is pretty close to infant-directed speech.

So maybe my voice might make me seem younger or less knowledgeable… judge all you want, because it helps me accomplish the things I want to do.

So the moral of this story is to recognize your strengths, the things that make you unique, and use them!

What is one of your strengths?  How do you use it in your professional or personal life?

