Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I received this product for free, but all opinions are my own.

Chalkboard is definitely a big trend: from chalkboard paint to chalkboard labels, it’s everywhere!  Now, you can even chalkboard-ize your manicure with the Ciaté® Chalkboard Manicure kit.

The kit includes black chalkboard nail polish, four nail markers, and a matte top coat.  The instructions are simple: just paint on a coat or two of the black polish, let it dry, doodle with the markers, and seal in your design with the top coat.

My sister Taylor has beautiful, long nails, so I used her as a “model” for the product.

I was pleased with the black polish: it went on smoothly and dried quickly.  The brush, however, was another story.  It reminded me of those paintbrushes that come with watercolor sets you used to use as a kid: the bristles were thick, which made the polish difficult to apply.

Drawing with the markers was fun and easy: since the black polish dried so quickly, we could use the markers right away.  I liked the blue marker the best: it was highly-pigmented and very bright.  The yellow marker, on the other hand, was liquid-y and dried unevenly.  We needed to trace over our designs with another coat of the yellow marker.  We had some trouble with the white marker, too.  It was difficult to get the polish to come out of the marker.

The markers dried quickly, so we finished up by applying the matte top coat.  The brush for this polish was better than the brush for the black one.

I’m not a fan of matte nails, so I’m curious as to whether a regular, shiny top coat would work with this polish.  I’m excited to try it again and see!

My sister and I had a lot of fun with the Ciate Chalkboard Manicure set.  I LOVE the Ciate polish bottles: they are made of frosted glass, and look very glamorous.  Overall, I recommend this product, but the markers (especially the yellow and white ones) could be better.  It’s a lot of fun to use, and a great “back to school” treat!

Have you ever tried a chalkboard manicure?  What did you think?

