Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I filled out this survey, but some of the questions bothered me a little.  Read on to find out why.

What did you eat for breakfast?

Two Fiber One bars on my way to study for a final exam.  I study in the student center for people in my major.  It’s only accessible to people in the major, (which is like… nobody) so it’s always quiet and nearly empty.  It’s a great place to study, but the downside is that it’s nearly a mile from my house.  I just figure I’m killing two birds with one stone… walking counts as exercise!

How much water do you drink a day?

A lot!  I’d say anywhere between 80 and 100 ounces each day.  I get dehydrated easily, so I always have water with me.

What is your favorite current workout?

I love Zumba and the elliptical!  I haven’t gotten to work out as much as I’d like to recently… I have been so busy!  I walk a lot, but I can’t say that’s my favorite workout.

How many calories do you eat a day?

I don’t count calories.  I have no need to.  This is the first question in this survey that I’m not entirely fond of.  It only opens the door to comparing your caloric intake with someone else’s, which makes absolutely no sense.  Your body is your own, and it’s different from everyone else’s.  There is no need to compare your calories with anyone else’s, nor is there a need to even count them unless a medical professional recommended you to do it.

bird

What are your favorite healthy snacks?

I like grazing on snacks all day!  I love veggies with hummus, apples or bananas with peanut butter, and cereal.

What do you eat for lunch?

It depends.  I usually go for fruit, cheese, and cereal.  I like bagels and salads, too.  Like I said above, I prefer to snack throughout today rather than eat a big midday meal.  My condition causes low blood volume, so when blood rushes to my stomach after a big meal, I feel drowsy and weak.  I can deal with it at night after dinner, but not as much during the day.  I eat the same amount as anyone else would eat for lunch, I just spread it out throughout the afternoon.

Holidays2012 067

What is your favorite body part to strength train?

Legs for sure!

What is your least favorite body part to strength train?

Arms… I have small, weak arms and tiny wrists.  Strength training my arms makes me feel like I’m going to break a bone!

What are your “bad” food cravings?

There is no such thing as a “bad” food craving.  This is another question I don’t like.  Asking questions like this one only perpetuates the myth that there are “good” and “bad” foods.  Yes, some foods are better for your body than others, but it’s not as black and white as “good” and “bad” foods.

Do you take vitamins or supplements?

I take adult gummy vitamins every day.  I keep the bottle near my makeup, so I always remember to take it!  That is… if I put on makeup.  Wishful thinking?

How often do you eat out?

It depends on the week.  I usually go out to dinner with friends on Saturday, and I might go another time during the week for lunch or dinner if it’s a special occasion.  I’ve recently been obsessed with honey whole wheat bagels with egg white and cheddar cheese from Einstein’s.  So good!

NETgroups_2.7

Do you eat fast food?

I don’t like how it makes me feel, but sometimes desperate times call for desperate measures.  I try to find foods that are as unprocessed as possible on the menu.  Usually if there’s fast food, there is a Starbucks nearby.  Starbucks always has great nutritious choices for on-the-go.  I especially like their fruit and cheese box.

Who is your biggest supporter?

My family and friends!  They are always there for me and I love them so much. 🙂

Do you have a gym membership?

Yep!  I have a student membership to the gym near my house, so I go when I go home for breaks.  I also have access to the gyms on campus, but I get most of my exercise from walking while I’m at school.

How many hours of sleep do you get a night?

6-8 hours.  It’s not enough, I know!

Do you have a “cheat” day?
No.  Again, another question I don’t like!  I eat what I feel like, when I feel like it.  If you deprive yourself all week, then eat everything in sight on one day, you’ll only end up feeling terrible physically and emotionally.  Your body doesn’t care what day it is: it processes food all the same.

Do you have a workout buddy?

No.  When I work out, I get in a zone and don’t talk to anyone.  My friends have told me that they tried to say hi to me at the gym, but I didn’t respond!  I literally block out everything except for my music and the gym TV.

What is the best thing that has changed about your life since committing to a healthy lifestyle?

I have more energy when I eat healthy, drink enough water, exercise when I can, sleep, and just generally take care of my body.

What was the last healthy thing you did?

Technically?  I breathed.  #winning

Did you fill out this survey on your blog?  How do you feel about some of the questions?  

 

