Tags

, , , , ,

When I was younger, I hated reading.  While other kids devoured books as children, I fought tooth and nail.  In fourth grade, I made up the ending to a book for a book report because I didn’t want to read the entire thing.  Sad.  Now that I’m older, I realize what the problem was all along: I just don’t like fiction.  It doesn’t keep my attention like a good, thought-provoking nonfiction book does.  I even enjoy reading textbooks if they’re interesting enough, but fiction just isn’t my cup of tea.

I went to a bookstore today and got some books for Spring Break beach reading.  Airport kiosks are full of magazines, but nonfiction books?  Not so much.  Here’s what I found.

The cashier at the store definitely looked at me funny when I bought a book called A Map of the Child.  Not exactly typical for a 19-year-old, especially one who looks like a 6th grader without makeup!  I got all five books for around $17.  Used bookstores are the best!

Pink Think: Becoming a Woman in Many Uneasy Lessons

On Balance

Better Than Well: American Medicine Meets the American Dream

College Girls: Bluestockings, Sex Kittens, and Co-eds, Then and Now

A Map of the Child: A Pediatrician's Tour of the Body

I’ll be sure to review these books after I read them, so check back in a few weeks for my thoughts.

Do you have any book recommendations for me?  Have you read any of these books?

