Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I try to be honest on this blog, so today I will.

I’m really exhausted.  I have so much to do and not nearly enough time nor motivation to do it.  I’m not complaining: I enjoy being busy.

If there’s one thing that really stresses me out, it’s criticism.  Even if it’s constructive criticism.  I don’t take it well.  I hide the fact that I don’t take it well, but I really don’t.  I have been working on this trait for a long time, and it hasn’t gotten much better.  I just don’t like people telling me what I did wrong, and that’s my own fault.  Since coming to college, though, I have learned that many people don’t know how to give criticism.  The key is to soften the rudeness.  For example, instead of saying:

“You need to fix this document.”

Say… “Thank you so much for getting this done so quickly!  I really like how you did this part of the document.  I think it would be even better if you changed this part.  Let me know if you need any help.”

It’s mind-numbingly easy.  Just sandwich the criticism in the middle of some compliments, and offer your guidance afterwards.  I really don’t understand why some people can’t do this.  It would make people like me so much happier.

With so much stuff to do, I managed roll out of bed early this morning for some homework time.  I am less distracted when I work in the morning because it’s quiet, and everyone else is asleep and there’s nobody to talk to.  Through this busy week, I’ve found that caffeine is like liquid sleep.  This is probably a bad opinion for me to have.

Caffeine and Audiology

Also, how come Cosi tomato basil soup is so good?  It’s so rich, creamy, and tomato-y.  I can’t believe I never tried it until today.  With warm multi-grain flatbread for dipping?  Perfection.

Cosi Tomato Basil Soup – Yum!

Bracelets for today.  The blue-ish black ones on the ends were Christmas gifts from a long time ago that I recently re-discovered in my closet.  The silver chain link bracelet is from my First Communion, and it has a heart chain monogrammed with my initials and the date of the event: May 5, 2001.  Which is a really long time ago.  My wrists are probably still the same size as they were back in ’01, so it still fits!  The black charm bracelet is my medical ID bracelet.  You can find my review of it here.  I’ve gotten so many compliments since I started wearing this bracelet… until I tell the complimenter that it’s a medical ID bracelet.  They look dejected.  It’s awkward.

Bracelets upon Bracelets

I’m off to dinner with some friends.  We are going to a make-your-own stir fry restaurant… yum!

What is your biggest pet peeve?

