Tags

, , , , ,

009

Glitter is a wonderful thing.  It adds sparkle and fun to any project.  But let’s be honest.

It’s very annoying to use.

Glitter has been called the herpes of craft supplies for a good reason.  Once it gets onto a surface, it never goes away.  I’ve figured out an easy, no-mess way to apply glitter that doesn’t require any fancy materials.  In fact, you probably have all the supplies already.

Ready?  Here we go.

First, line a pie pan with aluminum foil.  Make sure the sheet of foil is big enough to wrap over the sides of the pan.

006

Pour some glitter into the lined pan.  Shake the pan to distribute the glitter evenly.

Put glue on the item that you want to glitter.  I really like Creatology foam glue.  It sticks to foam, wood, and plastic, and it’s easy to find in any craft store.  Mod Podge works well too, but mine was nearly empty and I had another use in mind for it (more on this later).

011

016

Dip the glued item into the glitter, and tap off the excess back into the pan.

When you’re all finished, tilt the pan so that the extra glitter falls to one side.  Roll the foil into a funnel shape, and pour the glitter back into its container for future use

012
.I glittered my sorority letters onto some foam squares from Target.

007

As well as some pill bottle lids.  I let the glue dry, then topped the lids with a coat of Mod Podge to seal the glitter.  I don’t want glitter in my medicines.  Ew.

014

013

I hope this method works for you!  Let me know what you think if you try it.

