Tags

, , , , , ,

Lisa wrote a great post about being real on blogs.  It got me thinking about honesty and how blogs, especially healthy living ones, can present altered views of peoples’ lives just by what is written and how.  I’ll be honest and say that I really dislike blog posts that go like this.

Here is a picture of my super-healthy meal that I ate after I ran 10 miles.  Lunch is served. 😉  I made these brownies out of organic black beans, free range almond butter, acai berries that I picked in my backyard garden, and tears.  I just love eating such healthy, flavorless food!  It reminds me of how much better I am than all of you.  I don’t need to worry about my job, my relationships with others, or my bank account because I am just so healthy.  I’m off to hot suspension yoga!  I got a free pass to these classes from the company because this blog has so many sponsors.  I won’t comment on your blog or even reply to your comment on mine, though.

Obviously I’m exaggerating, but do you see what I mean?  I’m tired of bloggers pretending that they don’t struggle.  That they don’t have issues, fears, and setbacks just like everyone else.

YES

We all tend to focus so much on the positives: the yummy food, the good workouts, and the fun experiences, in our blogs that we neglect the negatives that life throws at us.  Yesterday I got dressed up and drove 45 minutes to an interview, only to find out that they hired someone for the job last week.

mistakes

This is the kind of thing that just happens to people, and if we as bloggers want to give our readers an accurate picture of our lives, then we need to write about both the good and the bad.  I’m not saying we should pour our feelings out onto our blogs.  If you want to, that’s great, but if you don’t, that’s fine too.  We should, however, relate to our readers in that we can’t give them this perfect view of our lives.

hope

I never want anyone to read my blog and feel bad about themselves.  I don’t think any blogger wants this, but we all need to acknowledge that it does happen and work to prevent it.

everything is going to be just fine. :)

Who’s with me?

Untitled

