Five little things that make me happy:

1.  I’ve finally found a cereal box size to suit my needs.  I could eat cereal for every meal!  For some reason I go through cereal phases where I eat only one kind of cereal for a few months, then get sick of it and eat another kind of cereal.  Right now I’m hooked on Honey Bunches of Oats with Almonds.

2.  My favorite candy!  These malted milk balls are enormous and covered in luscious, high-quality dark chocolate.  They’re pricey but amazing.

3.  I love Red Mango!  Especially the self-serve locations, because deciding exactly what goes on my yogurt and in what quantities makes me feel powerful.  Even so, I usually go with boring combinations.  This is peanut butter and original tart yogurt with cookie dough nuggets on top.

4.  I’m really looking forward to the new school year!  My carefree summer days are beginning to wind down.  Even though my college starts ridiculously late (almost in October!), the emails have started to arrive.  The sort of emails that I actively have to respond to.  My Google calendar is starting to take form, my back-to-school shopping is in full force, and my organizing/packing is, well, getting there.  Here is my fall class schedule!  It’s a little strange but it’s the only way I could take all the classes I wanted to take.  Tuesdays and Thursdays will be rough!

It’s sort of a random combination of classes, but they’re all relevant and required for my major, I promise.  😉  Except for the dance class.  That one’s an elective.

5.  I’m especially looking forward to Impressionism.  I’m taking it with my roommate and we both love Impressionist art.

One of my classes last quarter, 19th Century Art, really sparked my interest in art history as a field.  One evening, the class took a trip to the Art Institute of Chicago (art history is one of the few programs at my school that still goes on field trips!) and spent nearly an hour looking at Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte by Georges Seurat.  The professor knew this painting (and pretty much every painting, he was incredibly knowledgeable) inside and out, and even though I’d seen it many times both in print and in person, I had never really looked at it before.  The professor encouraged us to look at the painting from every angle, both up-close and far away.  Mind. blown.  This was when I knew I had to take more art history classes!

File:A Sunday on La Grande Jatte, Georges Seurat, 1884.jpg

[ source ]

What is a little thing that makes YOU happy?

Untitled

