Tags

, , , , , , ,

I love canvases.  They make any craft project look professional, like you bought it at a store instead of throwing it together on your kitchen counter.  I re-decorated the two canvases I upholstered last year.  Remember these?

Birds 008

I ripped off the fabric, and it came off surprisingly easily.  There were a few spots where the canvas came off with the fabric, as well as some places where the turquoise paint had seeped onto the canvas.  I painted each canvas with a coat of white acrylic paint, and they looked good as new.

Here’s what you need for this project.  Aside from the painters’ tape, I’m sure you can find everything at a craft store.

  • stretched canvas, any size
  • blue painters’ tape; preferably a brand with “Edgelock”
  • white acrylic paint
  • another color acrylic paint (I used black)
  • paintbrush

And here’s how you make it.

1.  Paint a thin layer of white acrylic paint over the top and sides of the canvas.  Let it dry.

2.  Using painters’ tape, mark straight lines on the canvas.  You can make them as thick or as thin as you’d like.  Make sure the tape extends over the edges of the canvas.  Smooth out the tape using a clean, dry paintbrush.

3.  Paint!  Go in long, smooth, strokes parallel to the tape.  To make the grey line, I mixed a lot of white with a small dollop of black paint.  A little goes a long way.

4.  Let the paint dry for a few minutes, then tear the tape off and let it dry completely.

And that’s it!

