Here’s a fact about me:  I love office supply stores.  I got it from my mother, who would take me school supply shopping in July and wander around aimlessly with me as I admired each and every folder, notebook, and binder over and over again before choosing the perfect ones.  I still like them now, especially Staples.  They have the best variety of cute supplies, and for low prices, too.  Today after work, I treated myself to a present: a new planner.

It’s July, so that means the August 2012-2013 planners have arrived.

You’re probably wondering… “Courtney, this is 2012!  You’re a computer-savvy young person who can easily just use Google calendar or iCal or something internet-y!”

But you see, I need a planner.  I have the short-term memory of a goldfish, which I attribute to a memory that is filled to capacity with random information from my childhood.  So a planner is imperative, because I’m more likely to remember the name of my 2nd grade babysitter than the time of that one very important meeting.  I hear a thing, I think “I’m going to forget that FOR SURE”, I pull out my planner, I jot it down, and voila!  The day is saved because I will remember that one important thing.

Hooray!

It should come as no surprise that I’m extremely picky and indecisive when it comes to my penmanship tools.  I’m picky about everything and sorry, I’m not sorry.  An ideal planner has:

  • plenty of room for writing stuff on each day
  • month pages at-a-glance
  • paper that isn’t grey
  • print that isn’t black
  • plastic on the outsides, not paper or cardboard
  • a pretty cover
  • space for note-taking

And, after much browsing and fending off over-enthusiastic Staples employees, I finally found one!  Here it is.

It’s by a company called “Mom Agenda” which was a deterrent for me until I read the first page of the planner, which indicated that customers had wrote the company saying they loved the planners even though they were not mothers.  Good enough for me!

I found this at Staples, and it’s probably the most useless pencil case in the whole entire world.  But actually… where do the pencils go?!

On Sunday, my boyfriend and I went to the beach.  It was a perfect beach day – clear skies, a cool breeze, and plenty of sun!  I haven’t been to the beach all summer, but I should go more often.

He did some “light reading” while we were there.

Then we got ice cream at the bed (and only) ice cream store in town.  I got elephant tracks, which is chocolate ice cream with peanut butter cups in it.  Yum!

It was such a lovely day 🙂  I always forget how nice my small town is in the summer, even though it’s usually boring.

I had work today, which was impossible because the toddler I nanny decided not to nap.  At all.  Which was just awesome. 😛

What is your favorite ice cream flavor?

Untitled

