Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I never thought I’d say this, but sometimes I use math in everyday life.  Like today, I realized that the number of cars in the gym parking lot is inversely correlated to the chance I’ll snag a good elliptical at the gym.  This isn’t really math, but it still made me feel like a genius.  It’s summer, people, I’m allowed to neglect using my left-brain for a bit. 😉

You see, there are the good ellipticals (Precor) that tell me I’m burning lots of calories and going really far.  They also have a handy crossramp feature, so I feel like I’m going up hills outside.  It’s as if they’re saying, “Go, Courtney!  You’re doing great!  Your choice of TV show is just so intellectually stimulating.”   Then, there are the bad ellipticals.  They have these pesky little screens that I cannot figure out how to use, and annoying foot petals that give me shin splints.  They say “You’re so out-of-shape, Courtney.  You won’t be here tomorrow because you won’t be able to walk.  Also, who watches SVU while exercising?  Ha ha!”  I’d rather do awkward waiting laps around the gym than use a bad elliptical.  Thankfully, today there were many good ellipticals open, so I got to pick.  WIN.

 

Also, the reason I watch SVU at the gym is because no matter how exhausted I feel, the people on that show always have it worse.

It was very hot outside today – I could probably have cooked an egg on the driveway… aside from the fact that it would be totally unsanitary and a waste of an egg that I could use to make banana bread.  I’m a very logical person, you know.  Anyway, 95 degrees in Chicago is unusual this early in summer so I had to go to the pool after my workout!

I brought along The Diary of a Mad Mom-To-Be by Laura Wolf, which I got for free but I can’t remember where.  It’s a light, easy, fun read, but not a book I’d spend money on.

I spent two hours reading, sipping a club soda with lime, and soaking up the sun.  I even went in the water a few times; it felt so nice to cool off!

And guess what?  I didn’t get sunburnt!  It was extremely sunny and hot, but I slathered myself in L’Oreal Sublime Sun SPF 50 as soon as I got to the pool and I was good!  This never happens to me: I always burn in the sun.  L’Oreal sunscreen really does work, and it feels so nice and non-greasy on your skin.  I highly recommend it.

Sublime Sun Advanced Sunscreen SPF 50.Opens in a new window

After the pool, I went back home and rested for a bit.  I hate to admit this, but I watched Fear Factor and The Bachelorette on TV.  I don’t really like reality TV, but for some reason in summer I can never get enough of it!  I feel my brain cells slowly dying as I watch this rose ceremony.  Also it really bothered me that a guy on the show mispronounced quinoa.  It’s “kee-nwah”, not “kwi-no-a.”  That would be a total deal-breaker for me, and I have no shame about it.

I’m going out to dinner with my friend Lily tonight, so I’m off to get ready.  I love how “getting ready” in summer just means throwing on a flowy dress and putting on makeup – beach hair is always a go!  Expect a beauty review coming soon – I have plenty of new products to share!

❤ Courtney

