Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I just read Meghann’s post and it really struck a chord with me.  You would not believe how many times I’ve been told I can’t do something because I have a chronic illness.  And sometimes, the person is right, I can’t.  But more often than not, they’re wrong. 

Can I go for a run outside?  No, it’s not safe.

Can I use the elliptical for 30+ minutes?  Yes!

Oftentimes people don’t outright tell me, “You can’t do that!” but they do it in such a way that sounds polite yet still condescending.  It is for this reason that I don’t tell people about my illness.  More often than not, it rears its ugly head on its own (aka: I faint), telling the world, “Courtney is messed up!”  There are limitations on what I can do: I get tired more easily than other people,and I sometimes get really sick and dizzy for no apparent reason.  But you’d better believe I don’t let these limitations stop me.  I am not weak.  If you tell me I am, I’ll show you I’m not.

Okay, I’m done.

In other news… I joined a sorority!

009

and creepily took pictures during chemistry…

011

and made pizza bagels…

012

and ate random dining hall food…

 001

pro tip: instead of topping your cereal with fruit, top your fruit with cereal!

002

That’s all for now… I’m off to dinner at the sorority house then more studying!  Oh yay…

❤ C

