Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It’s back to school for me already- my college finished winter break ridiculously early, so I’m already back in the swing of books, classes, late nights, and general busy-ness.  But not to worry: I’m having fun!  I’m one of those weirdos who works best when super busy, and I love feeling productive.  Obviously all this busyness and change means less time for blogging, so I’ve sorta just been taking random pictures as of late in the hopes of finally having time to post.  Now it’s 9:20 on a saturday morning, I’m the only one awake, and I finally have some time to write!

The night before I left for school, I made twice-baked potatoes for my family!  Twice-baked potatoes are my favorite, and this recipe is surprisingly good for you!

Lighter Twice-Baked Potatoes – serves 6

  • 3 large russet potatoes
  • 1/2 cup light sour cream
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 4 light Laughing Cow wedges
  • 1 cup reduced-fat shredded cheddar cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

1. Wash and scrub the potatoes, then poke holes all over them with a fork.  Place the potatoes on a microwave-safe plate, and microwave on high power for 10 minutes.

2. Allow the potatoes to cool, then cut them in half lengthwise.  Use a large spoon to scoop out the potato mush, leaving the skin and a bit of potato (about 1/4-inch) intact.  Place the potato shells on an ungreased cookie sheet, and set them aside while you make the filling.002

3.  In a medium bowl, combine potato mush and all other ingredients.  Use an electric mixer for a fluffier, creamier filling.005

4.  Spoon some filling back into each potato shell, and bake them at 375 degrees F for 10-15 minutes, or until the tops are golden-brown.

 

The first day back at school, my boyfriend and I got crepes for lunch.  I also got a giant apple!  Seriously, I had to buy it because I had never seen an apple that big!  With a Nantucket  Nectars bottle for comparison…

mobile 017

We also took jumping pictures.  How creative!mobile 019

I saw these tree reindeers on campus.  Obviously I had to take a picture of them- how cute!

mobile 024

Snacks for class… chocolate chip Fiber One bars are delicious!

007

Thanks, Mom!  She hid this peppermint bark in my box of clothes that I brought back to school… what a great thing to find while unpacking!

008

An important lesson: when the dining hall has butterscotch chips (who knows why?) you don’t just leave them there.  You fill a tupperware container with them and stockpile them in your room to bake with.

009

Same goes for Oreo crumblies.

010

