Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s so good to be home.

…where I can work out in a gym that has towels for free.

I did 30 minutes on the elliptical, promptly coughed up half my lung (why do I have such a bad cough?!?!), and finished the workout at that.  People were staring.  Things got awkward.

 

…where I can photograph my food without anyone questioning my sanity.

 

Breakfast was a whole wheat bagel with peanut butter and raspberries that were unusually good for being out of season.

IMG_1177

Grocery shopping!  It is weird to go to the store and have so many choices: I’m used to getting to choose from 5 cereals or 2 soups at the dining hall, and hardly any fruits or vegetables!  I got Crispix, Total, whole-wheat flour, whole-wheat pasta, dark chocolate chips, egg whites, clementines, Amy’s lentil soup, carrots, and red bell peppers.  I miraculously had exactly 10 items, so I was able to use the 10 Items or Less cash register at SuperTarget.

It’s the little victories that matter most.

IMG_1178

I peeled and cut the carrots into sticks for hummus dipp-ability.

IMG_1179

And heated up the soup on the stove.  Along with the carrots and hummus, this was an easy and tasty, albeit unattractive lunch.

IMG_1182

I hated lentil soup until I went to college.  Now I crave it.  No idea why.

 

…where I can make puppy chow in a kitchen that doesn’t have pots of day-old, cold ramen noodles on the stove. 

IMG_1180

What is puppy chow, you ask?

JUST MAKE IT. THEN YOU WILL UNDERSTAND.

 

Puppy Chow (aka “crack”)

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 7 oz. chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 12 cups Crispix cereal
  • 2 cups powdered sugar

1. Melt butter, chocolate chips, and peanut butter in the microwave.  It will take approximately 1 minute, but check after 45 seconds.

2. Stir, then pour the chocolate over the Crispix in a large bowl.  Toss gently to coat all the cereal.

3. Add powdered sugar, and toss to coat.  I usually do this step in a big plastic bag because it isn’t as messy.

4. Refrigerate for 1 hour, then eat.  YUM!

IMG_1181

 

…where I have access to a variety of fun nail polish colors.

IMG_1183

Festive nails!  A little messy, but I don’t care enough to fix them. Smile with tongue outIMG_1185

 

I’m now off to eat pizza and bake cookies.  I am an old lady, and proud of it. Smile

