noone

I decided that this quote is a good one to start this post.

A few weeks ago, I joined a POTS support group on Facebook.  I hoped to get in touch with some people who understood POTS because they were in the same boat, and I did get in touch with some.

But something really bothered me about this group.

Perhaps 9 times out of 10, people posted complaints and rants about themselves.  Like

“ohhh  I’ll never be able to do such-and-such and POTS totally ruined my life.”

  I may sound like a terrible person, but my reaction to these posts is always:

First of all, you can do whatever you want.  Maybe not while you’re feeling sick, but don’t tell yourself you’ll never be able to achieve your goals because you’re just setting yourself up for failure.  Secondly, your life can’t be ruined.  You have a computer, so be happy that you live in a developed nation and that your POTS was actually diagnosed.

I’m no motivational speaker.  I can be pretty pessimistic at times, actually.  I’ll admit it: POTS is a sucky illness, but there are worse ones out there.  Much, much worse ones.  So when I read these complaints, I can’t help but think that they sound pretty selfish.  Be happy for what you have, focus on making the best of your current condition, and if you must complain, keep it rational.

That is all, thank you.

