So I went to the gym this morning and noticed a woman walking on the treadmill while using her walker.  Umm, ok?  I don’t know what the purpose of that story was, but the entire time I was at the gym, all I could think about was how much I wanted to bake brownies.  Brownies are my absolute favorite thing to bake, which isn’t saying much because my favorite thing to bake changes, oh, every week.  But brownies are wonderful.  They’re mind-numbingly simple to make, they make the house smell amazing, and they have the magical power of making everyone happy.  Whenever I bring a batch of brownies to school, the response is something along these lines:

ARE THOSE BROWNIES?  THEY ARE?!?  YES!!!

Brownies 014

These brownies are not for the faint of heart.  Evan’s Outrageous Triple Chocolate Brownies  are rich, fudgy, and not too sweet.  I love them,  but if you’re a fan of sweet, cakey brownies, then this isn’t the recipe for you.

The phrase “triple chocolate” is decieving.  It implies that there is triple the amount of chocolate as a run-of-the-mill brownie.  Which would be impossible as a brownie can only hold so much chocolate without being a chocolate bar.  But it is my goal to pack as much chocolate into a brownie as possible while maintaining its brownie integrity.  Which means as little flour as possible.  This recipe uses a mere six tablespoons of flour, less than half a cup.

This is how I write my recipes.  In shorthand on post-its without any instructions whatsoever.  That way, nobody else can read them and steal my secrets. Smile with tongue out

Brownies 001

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line a 8×8-inch pan with foil, then spray the foil.

Start with chocolate.  I should instruct you to use the best you can find, but then again, nobody will notice if you use Toll House chips.  If someone does call you out on it, then you probably shouldn’t be friends with them.  Just my opinion.

You need 3/4 cup chocolate chips in total.  I used 1/2 cup Ghirardelli 72% chips and 1/4 cup Toll House semisweet chips.  I’m a rebel.

Brownies 002

Melt a stick of butter in a large bowl.  I used salted.  And I melted it in the microwave, bringing my brownie sin total up to 3.  Do as I say, not as I do.  Add the chocolate chips to the melted butter.Brownies 004

Stir like crazy until the chocolate is totally melted into the butter.

Brownies 007

Stir in 3/4 cup sugar, 2 tablespoons cocoa powder, 1/4 teaspoon each espresso powder and salt, and 1/2 teaspoon baking powder.

Brownies 008

Crack in 2 large eggs, then add 6 tablespoons of flour.

Brownies 005

Mix the batter well.  There isn’t a lot of flour, so there isn’t a risk of overmixing.  Go ahead and mix your little heart out.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan.  I like to press some chocolate chips into the top of the batter.  I don’t know why.  It looks pretty. Smile

Doesn’t THAT look delicious?!?!  Yeah, I promise the brownies will look better after they’ve been baked.

Brownies 011

Bake for 30 minutes.  No more than 30 minutes.  Got it?  Let the brownies cool completely on a wire rack.

Brownies 012

These, unlike most brownies, taste best when cooled.  Put them in the fridge if you’re impatient like me.

Enjoy!

