Tags

, , , , ,

I went to Fort Myers, Florida over the long weekend to visit my grandparents.  Internet connection was s-l-o-w so I didn’t post while I was there, but here’s a marathon post for you to read!

We left early Friday morning and arrived in Florida at around 11.  The warm sun felt so good!  I’m getting sick of gloomy Chicago weather.  We greeted my grandparents, ate a quick lunch, then hit the pool.  There were 6 pools at my grandparents’ condo compound, and my sister and I were determined to swim in all of them.  Here’s me at Pool #4…

Florida 003

and Pool #5… the “No Diving” rule is strictly enforced… I wouldn’t dare to even jump in!

Florida 007

On Saturday night, we went to a very upscale Italian restaurant called Angelina’s.  I’m usually weary of upscale places because it’s tougher to find something on the menu that I like, but thankfully Angelina’s offered mushroom risotto.  I was, however, taken aback when the waiter told me, “Well, that dish is mostly rice and cream, you know.”

No duh.  It’s risotto.  Do you think I’m stupid?

He also recommended nearly forced me to order a second entree.  In Italy, you eat pasta before the main meat course, but I wasn’t in a meat mood (more on that in a bit).  A big dish of $16 risotto is plenty for me.

Rudeness aside, the risotto was excellent, as was the bread (with garlic spread- yum!) and flourless chocolate cake.  I like to think I’m a flourless chocolate cake aficionado, and this one was definitely one of my favorites.  My only complaint was how the servers seemed to look down on me.  I look younger than I actually am, but I felt as though I was treated like a 5-year-old.  I’m perfectly capable of reading a menu and ordering a dish on my own.

We also went to Naples Flatbread and Wine Bar, which was great!  I ordered the Hummus Trio, which came with flatbread crackers and 3 types of hummus.  The sun-dried tomato one was my favorite, but they were all delicious.  I especially enjoyed mixing the flavors on each cracker. 😉  Here’s Dad and I, plus some random lady eating.

Florida 002

On Sunday morning, my parents decided to play tennis.  I’m horrible at tennis, but I wanted to enjoy the weather so I offered to be ball girl.  Fetching and tossing balls turned out to be quite a workout, haha!  We played until we were kicked off the court by a few angry old ladies.  :/

Florida 017

All in all, it was a great trip and it was nice to spend time with my family.  I’m sunburnt (even after applying SPF 85 every few hours!) but a few days of warm sunshine was definitely needed!  Of course, Chicago welcomed me home with clouds and some more snow.  Lovely. 😉

Today at school, I brought home some of my ceramic projects.  They’re tiny charms, and I’m going to buy some jewelry stuff to make them into necklaces and bracelets.  So far I’ve made a slice of cake, a cinnamon roll, a raspberry, and 2 cupcakes.  They’re made of high-fire clay and glazed with underglaze only.  For some reason the brown underglaze is shinier than the other colors, so the cake charm is very shiny while the others have a hint of shine.  They’ve all got holes for a chain and two little eyes.  I’m working on a whale and a kitty right now!

Florida 020 Florida 021

Florida 022 Florida 023

Hope you like them, and thank you for reading! 🙂  Have a lovely day!

