Tags

, , ,

I know it’s Wednesday but I didn’t have time to write this post yesterday.  So pretend it’s Tuesday. 🙂

This week’s topic is How To Deal With Mean People.  I wrote this regarding POTS, but it should be equally as effective at dealing with your not-so-nice counterparts if you have another chronic condition.  Here’s a few common comments you might receive and how to respond politely yet assertively.  And remember- people don’t usually realize that what they say to you is offensive, so don’t call them out on it unless the comment is so mean that it couldn’t be unintentional.  😉

super breakfast

[ image source ]

The comment: “Why weren’t you at [place/activity]?”

The response: “I wasn’t feeling well enough to ____.  I have a chronic condition called ____ that makes me feel tired and sick at sometimes unpredictable times.  Would you mind filling me in on what happened at ____?”

 

The comment: “You know salt is bad for you, right?” (this one pertains specifically to POTS)

The response: “I actually have low blood pressure, and consuming extra salt helps it stay up.  Salt is bad for you if you’re at risk for or suffer from high blood pressure.”

 

The comment: “It’s all in your head.”

The response: “No, actually it isn’t.  It’s in my autonomic nervous system, which regulates bodily functions that people don’t have any control over, like heart rate and blood pressure.”

 

The comment: “But you don’t look sick!”

The response: “No, I don’t right now.  But I’m not feeling well and if I don’t do [treatment], then you can bet I will look sick and I won’t be very fun to deal with!”

 

The comment: “What on earth is wrong with you??” (or something else rude)

The response: “It’s called postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome.  It’s a form of dysautonomia, which means a disorder of the autonomic nervous system…” Say any and everything about your condition that you can think of.  Use big words.  Make up some big words if you need to.  You want to prove that since you know so much about your condition, there must be something wrong with you because ordinary people wouldn’t memorize that much information.  It works like a charm. 🙂

 

❤ C

