Tags

, , , , , ,

My family and I decided to take a mini-vacation to Chicago this weekend.  It was a refreshing break from school/finals/life!

Upon arriving at the hotel, we received this little box of chocolates.  Clockwise from the top left; dark chocolate, milk chocolate nut, raspberry, and caramel.  They were delicious!

Chicago11 003

After we set down our bags, we took a cab to Water Tower Place and went shopping!  I took full advantage of my Christmas gift cards, haha.  I bought an eye brightening crayon and lotion from Sephora, a dress and hairbrush (mine keep disappearing) from Forever 21, and a few pairs of earrings from Claire’s.  Definitely a successful shopping spree!  We stopped for lunch at Foodlife, which is a big food court that serves fresh, yummy food.  You can get pretty much anything there, but I was craving balsamic dressing (who knows why??) so I ordered this chopped salad.  It has baby greens, cucumbers, carrots, and almond slivers with, of course, balsamic dressing.  I had a grainy roll on the side, plus a few bites of my sister’s stir fry.  Tasty!

Chicago11 008

After lunch and a bit more browsing, we went to Sprinkles!  The company just opened one in Chicago and my sister told me I absolutely HAD to try it.  And she was right- the cupcake was dense, soft but not sticky, and covered in a perfect layer of sweet but not-too-sweet frosting.  I ordered a Peanut Butter Chip one, and it was absolutely incredible!  Hands-down the best cupcake I’ve ever tasted.

Chicago11 009 

We stopped at NikeTown.

Chicago11 011

And for dinner we went to Osteria Via Stato.  It’s a casual Italian restaurant and it was very good!  Great service and the food is simple but perfect.  I ordered gnocchi with tomato sauce (yes, this is an item on the menu… I told you it was simple 😉 ) and it was unbelievable.  I definitely recommend it!

Chicago11 016

The next day, we went to the Shedd Aquarium.  A must-visit if you’ve never been!

Beluga whale baby!

Chicago11 020

Penguins

Chicago11 031

Don’t remember what these are called, but they’re funny!

Chicago11 048

Nemo

Chicago11 038

Chill fish… he’s like, “Did I SAY you could take a picture of me?!”

 Chicago11 063

Little fish… I love this picture!  Feel free to set it as your desktop background. 😉

Chicago11 066

Coral and blue fishies.

Chicago11 036 

After the aquarium, we drove back home.  Overall, a very relaxing yet fun trip! I love Chicago! 😀

