Tags

, , ,

What do you do when your French class needs a Bûche de Noël for their holiday party?

If you’re anyone sane, you stay quiet.

If you’re me, you volunteer to make one.

This dessert is not as complicated to make as it seems.  I promise.

BuchedeNoel 001

A few tips:

  • You don’t need to buy cake flour.  Just make sure your recipe includes plenty of baking powder, and all-purpose flour will work fine.
  • Make a genoise cake.  Don’t use a boxed mix.  Don’t use your favorite cake recipe.  Make a genoise cake.
  • Line the pan with foil.  Then grease the foil.  Then grease it some more.
  • While the cake is baking, it smells like pancakes.  This is good if you’re like me, who likes the smell of pancakes.
  • 5 minutes after the cake comes out of the oven, brush it with simple syrup.  I’m lazy and afraid of the stove, so I mixed hot water with a pinch of sugar.  Worked like a charm to keep the cake soft and pliable.
  • Cut the cake with a serrated knife, or else you’ll squish it.
  • I used Pillsbury fudge frosting.  After making a homemade genoise (sounds so fancy!) cake and fresh whipped cream, I was out of energy and my stand mixer was making unhappy clicking noises.  Though I would like to be, I am not Martha Stewart.

 

Nothing says “Merry Christmas!” like a log cake.  Plus green peanut M&Ms, candy melts, sprinkles, and gummy bears.  Oui, oui.

BuchedeNoel 002

You know what else is festive?  Studying for a calculus test.

BuchedeNoel 003

It’s so difficult to be motivated when I know I’m going here next fall.

BuchedeNoel 005

I need to keep good grades or else I won’t get to go.  Maybe I’m just not in a very motivated mood.  I’ll definitely be needing some of this.

BuchedeNoel 004

$1.50 at the Bath and Body Works outlet.  Smells lovely.

And now, back to derivatives… uff.

