I don’t know why, but I felt like making protein bars today.  Seeing as I’m such a scientist, I grabbed everything in my kitchen containing protein (except meat, of course), mixed it together, and baked it. 

Maybe it was a bit more formulaic than that. 

But not much.

Here’s the recipe.

 

You will need:

  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (I used crunchy, but creamy would work fine)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup chocolate protein powder
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup chopped nuts (I used walnuts)
  • 1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Scoop the peanut butter into a medium-sized bowl.

7-26 001 

Now add the protein powder.  I used GNC Lean Shake.

7-26 002

And crack in the egg.  Usually I’d just use the whites, but it turns out the yolk is full of good amino acids and such.  And the cholesterol in the yolk isn’t too bad for you.  So I used the whole egg.  You can use 2 whites if you’d like.

7-26 003 

Now add the flour, vanilla extract, and chopped nuts.  You can certainly omit the nuts if you’d like.  Mix it all really well.  You should get a crumbly dough that holds it shape when pressed together.

7-26 004

Spray a loaf pan with non-stick spray.  I lined mine with foil before I sprayed it so the bars would be easier to remove.  If you’ve got some foil on hand, go for it.  If you don’t, don’t worry.

Press the dough into the pan.  Doesn’t it look appetizing?!

Not.

7-26 005

Bake for 10-15 minutes.  When you touch the bars, they should feel firm but not crunchy.  If they look soft or dough-y, put them back in the oven for a few more minutes.

Now for the fun part.

Immediately after the bars come out of the oven, turn them out onto a wire cooling rack.

7-26 006

Sprinkle the chocolate chips evenly over the bars.  I used regular semisweet chips, but you could go darker if you’d like.  Peanut butter chips would be especially good.

7-26 007

Now grab your offset spatula.

Or a knife if you don’t have one.

Please go buy one if you don’t have one.  It will become your best friend in the kitchen.  Anyway…

Wait a minute for the chips to melt, then spread the chocolate all over the bars.

7-26 008

Cut them into squares.  Enjoy them.  Savor them.  Make some more of them.  Nobody will know they’re actually nutritious and packed with protein!

7-26 009

This recipe is very adaptable.  Use whole-wheat flour, vanilla protein powder, GF flour, any nut butter, raisins, craisins, almonds, oats… you get what I’m saying.  Once you know how to make them, you can make them however you want! =)

